Featured Post

The Skinny: Carolina 6, Isles 3 (Carolina wins series 4-1)

"The Skinny" By Eric Hornick Eastern Conference Round 1, Game 5 Carolina 6, Isles 3 Carolina Wins Series 4-1 School is out. Jack D...

Monday, April 23, 2012

Moulson named Lady Byng finalist

Matt Moulson has been named a finalist for the Lady Byng Award.  The other finalists are Edmonton's Jordan Eberle and Florida's Brian Campbell.

Campbell is looking to become the first defenseman to win the award since Red Kelly in 1953-54.   Like Moulson, he drew only three penalties all season.

Eberle is the "goon" of the bunch, having drawn five penalties. Eberle was 34-42-76 this season while Moulson was 36-33-69.  Moulson, who has not been penalized in 2012, is the first player since Paul Kariya in 1996-97 to score at least 30 goals and have single digit penalty minutes.

Marty St. Louis won the award each of the last two seasons, after Pavel Datsyuk had won it in all four years since the lockout.The Islanders have had two players win the award:  Mike Bossy won it three times (82-83, 83-84 and 85-86); Pierre Turgeon won it in 1992-93.  Two other players with Islander ties have also won the award: Phil Goyette, who later served as the Islanders' first coach, won it in 1969-70 with St. Louis while Butch Goring won it for Los Angeles in 1977-78 before winning four Stanley Cups and a Conn Smythe Trophy with the Islanders.


The award is one of the NHL's oldest, having been presented continuous since 1924-25.  Frank Boucher won it 7x in the 20s and 30s.  Since then only Datysuk (4x), Kelly (4x) and Wayne Gretzky (5x) have won it more often than Bossy.

More from NHL.com here: http://www.nhl.com/ice/news.htm?id=629241

Forever1940 is the nom de plume of Eric Hornick, statistician on Islander home telecasts since January 21, 1982. Visit my blog: NYISkinny.com and follow me on Twitter @ehornick

No comments: