Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Kerry Fraser on The Blown Call
Former NHL ref Kerry Fraser has been doing a good job this year on TSN.ca, writing about the game from a ref's standpoint.
Here's his view on the hit that got Hamonic tossed...and what he would have done to acknowledge it.
http://www.tsn.ca/blogs/kerry_fraser/?id=382567 (One funny note -- there is a link to TSN SportsCentre's highlight of the hit - they can't pronounce his name correctly (the anchor says huh-mohn-ick). )
BTW, Kevin Schultz raised a good point on IslandersPointBlank. Under section 45 of the rule book: "A major penalty, at the discretion of the Referee, shall be imposed on any player who uses his elbow to foul an opponent. A major penalty must be imposed under this rule for a foul resulting in an injury to the face or head of an opponent" In a further section of the rule, it notes that if a Major is imposed, a game misconduct must also be imposed.
Thus, once they determined it was a major, he had to be ejected.
Forever1940 is the nom de plume of Eric Hornick, statistician on Islander home telecasts since 1982. Visit my blog: NYISkinny.com and follow me on Twitter @ehornick